Biography

My research interests centre on networked systems, particularly in the context of security and measurement. Currently, I am working on scalability of blockchain technologies as part of the DECODE project. I am also interested in measurement of IP liveness via active Internet scans. Another area of research is understanding online ecosystems, focusing on propaganda in online media and malvertizing over censorship circumvention tools.

I received my Ph.D. degree ("Characterization of Internet Censorship from Multiple Perspectives") from the University of Cambridge in 2017 under the supervision of Prof. Jon Crowcroft (and co-supervised by Dr. Steven Murdoch, Prof. Vern Paxson, and Prof. Ross Anderson) where I was an Honorary Cambridge Trust Scholar, and was awarded the Mary Bradburn Scholarship by the British Federation of Women Graduates for my research work. Previously I worked on Intrusion Detection Systems (Bro), and wrote an open-source software for botnet detection (BotFlex). I interned twice at ICSI, UC Berkeley in 2012 and 2013. I received my Master's degree in Computer and Communication Security from National University of Science and Technology, Pakistan in 2013 for which I was awarded the President's Gold Medal.

News

  • Invited to serve in the PC of USENIX Workshop on Free and Open Communications on the Internet (FOCI) 2017.
  • Invited to serve in the PC of Privacy Enhancing Technologies Symposium (PETS) 2018.
  • Our adblock detection work The Adblocking Tug-of-War appeared in USENIX ;login Magazine.
  • My Ph.D. dissertation "Characterization of Internet censorship from multiple perspectives" is now available online.
  • Our work on characterizing Internet censorship is featured on University of Cambridge Research.
  • I talked about Internet censorship on Cambridge TV.

Selected Publications

The complete list is here.

Talks

The complete list is here.

Internet Censorship

Botnets

Personal

  • My name is pronounced as Shahrbānū (شهربانو‎‎) (Meaning: "Lady of the Land", or "The Princess"). This name has appeared in various historic and folklorish contexts, and there are many songs (e.g., this, this, and this) named after me! :)  
  • I can speak English, Pashto (three dialects), Urdu (Native or Bilingual Proficiency), Punjabi (Limited Working Proficiency), Arabic and Persian (Elementary Proficiency).
  • In my free time, I like to read about psychology, philosophy and literature; and I enjoy watching movies and long walks with my son.